Monday, February 04, 2008

Clark, Emerson, and Sifakis win Turing Award

The 2007 A.M. Turing Award, the most prestigious in computing, is going to Ed Clark, Allen Emerson, and Joseph Sifakis for their work in Model Checking, which has, over the past 25 years, revolutionized formal verification, especially of computer hardware designs. See the ACM announcement and press release.

Several other sources are carrying the news.

Updated 14:33 2/4/08 with ACM links.
PS For those confused about the "2007," ACM awards are dated the year when the nominations were due. Selections are announced in the following year, and presentations are made mid-year at the Awards Banquet, which this year will be on June 21 in San Francisco, CA.

Labels: ,


Comment by Blogger Jim Horning:

Good commentary on Geomblog.

2:10 AM  

Post a Comment